I decided to make these biscuits because I had extra buttermilk in my fridge (I bought it originally to make some cupcakes… which will be posted later).  Adapted the recipe from here and as I had a lot of ham in the freezer, I thought I’d add some for extra yummaness.  Why didn’t I just make buttermilk pancakes- the ever reliable and easiest-to-make breakfast food- you ask?  Well, because the last time I made buttermilk pancakes, it resulted in a stomachache that lasted for hours.  Too rich for my taste.

These biscuits are similarly rich and deceptively filling but without the stomachache.  I had but one and was bursting at the pants seams.  Recommended for fatties of the world.  And of course, if you’re a vegetarian fattie, you can nix the ham.  Enjoy!

This is what my dough looked like right after all the ingredients were mixed together.  Remember not to overmix!

Best to let the biscuits cool before attempting to take them off the parchment paper.  I didn’t wait and almost all my biscuits lost their bottoms.  Not a problem if you intend on eating the bottoms as soon as they cool, but they’ll be out of the running for Prettiest Biscuits in the World.  By the way, that’s my little friend, Neko (#1 of 2 black cats), perched atop the radiator.  He and my myriad bottles of sauces/oils are watching birds in the backyard.

Ingredients:

1c ham

1 3/4c unbleached all-purpose flour

3/4c cornmeal

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 stick (4 tbsp) unsalted butter, cut into cubes

2c extra sharp Cheddar cheese, grated

3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese (I used regular Parmesan but the blog I got the recipe from says Parmigiano-Reggiano.  I was too cheap)

3 scallions

2 garlic cloves

1 1/3c buttermilk

Equipment:

Baking pan

Parchment paper or tin foil

How to Make:

Dice the ham into small little pieces.  Set aside.  Preheat the oven to 450F.

In a bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Mix mix mix.  Add butter and smoosh with a fork.  Break the pieces up enough to resemble coarse cornmeal or, as I did, until you can’t easily identify the butter in the mixture.  Add the cheeses, scallions, garlic, and ham.  Mix mix mix.  Give the buttermilk a good shake, and add to the ingredients.  Stir until just combined (Again, do not overmix!!)

Place parchment paper over the baking pan.  Shape the mixture into small mounds (I made about 10, but they ended up being quite large biscuits.  I would recommend making balls that are about 1 1/2″ in diameter, because they expand quite a bit while baking) and place on the parchment paper.  Bake 15 minutes.

