First post yayyy!  In an effort to use up all my perishables, I made three dishes this Sunday in succession, all of which took about 3 hours total (not bad).  This German potato salad was quite easy to cook and very delicious- not too sweet, vinegary, or salty.  Plus, it’s got bacon and heaps of bacon grease in it.  Who doesn’t love that? Probably still healthier than its American cousin, 1 part potato: 1 part mayo.

I got the recipe here and modified it a bit, especially after seeing that it called for 3 tbsp of sugar.  For how much potato is actually there, it seemed like an exorbitant amount…  enough to be considered a confection or dessert.  Sorry Germanic peoples but I am just too taste-ignorant to appreciate the complexities of the sweet/savory dynamic.  Anyway, enjoy!

By the way, you may have noticed (or not) that my bacon is a bit leaner and thicker than normal.  It’s Better-than-Bacon, which is something I get from my meat lady.  It’s a different cut from the pig, a tad healthier but just as mouth-wateringly good.

Now would be a good time to inform you that I don’t often read instructions carefully before I start making something.  Usually I skim, start drooling, and then halfway through realize I’ve done something wrong.  In this case, I was supposed to cook the bacon in a pot and throw the onions in there afterward.  Instead, I made the onions in the pan and transferred to the pot I boiled the potatoes in.  How much bacon grease did I lose??  Ahhh, even a little is too much.  Also, I threw in some  mustard seeds but they didn’t add much flavor.

Bacon was too thick to crumble, so I had to cut it with my knife.

Mix mix mix!

Ingredients:

3c Yukon Gold potatoes, sliced

2-4 slices bacon

1 small onion OR 1/2 a large onion

1/4c white vinegar

2 tbsp water

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt (I ballparked this measurement.  Just sprinkled back and forth twice)

1/8 tsp black pepper (again… ballparked this one)

a liberal amount of coriander flakes (substitute for fresh parsley)

Equipment:

A pot

A pan

A strainer

How to Make:

1. Boil the potatoes.  I put them in once the water was boiling and took them out after about 20 minutes.

2. Strain the potatoes and run under cool water for a few seconds.  Leave in strainer to cool.

3. Meanwhile, place bacon in pan and heat over medium-high heat.  I hope you know how to cook bacon, but in case you don’t, here’s my half-assed tutorial:  Put the bacon in the pan while still at room temp.  When there’s enough grease to slosh around in the pan and the bacon is sizzling, start turning the meat every 1-2 minutes.  DO NOT leave it in there so you can get some extra crispies.  This usually results in complete blackened annihilation or, less dramatically, a 70+% charred piece of unhappiness.  Rather, take the bacon out of the pan after about 2 turns on each side.  Make sure to DRAIN it on a paper towel (don’t be a fattie!).

4. Dice the onions.  Cook them in the bacon grease until the edges are browned.  Transfer to the large pot.

5.  Add the vinegar, sugar, salt, pepper, and water.  Mix around to homogenize the stuff, and then wait for it to come to a boil.  You can cut/crumble the bacon at this point.

6.  Once your onions+stuff are boiling, throw in the potatoes and coriander flakes/parsley.  Mix mix mix over medium heat.

7. Add the bacon.  Mix mix mix.

And that’s it!

PS- Check out these awesome wares  Katie and I found in our alleyway!  I especially like the glass measuring cup shaped like a teacup.

