Carrot cake so good, it was even good when I made it.  Admittedly, my venture into the world of baking began only a few years ago.  Until then, ovens were these untouchable, mysterious, and very exotic contraptions that my family used for storage.  They went hand-in-hand with another thing I didn’t quite understand, the obsession with making and consuming desserts.  As a child, I loathed bake sales and avoided the brownies in microwaveable dinners.  I remember one time when I was 10 or 11, I went over to my friend’s neighbor’s house to bake oatmeal raisin cookies and the smell wafting from the kitchen was so vomit-inducing I had to retreat to the bathroom for some gagtime. But alas, gone are the days of revulsion at the sight of baked goods.  I can thank college for changing all that!  Once forced to enter the highly destructive sinister world of 24-hour buffet-style dining halls, my preconceived notions about food were totally crushed under the weight of late night cheese fries and second helpings of cheeseburgers (coinciding with my inner organs being totally crushed by the sharp increase in adipose tissue on my body).  Two entrees plus an appetizer plus dessert?  Why yes please!  Free second and third helpings?  Awesome!  So this is how my sweets-eating got started and subsequently my foray into oven usage.

Anyway, all this was just a roundabout way of saying that I’m a dummy when it comes to baking and this carrot cake was so easy to make and so good that even I felt a glimmer of hope about my baking future.  I adapted the recipe from here.  I cut the frosting recipe in half and added less sugar to the batter.  My cake was plenty sweet so I can’t even imagine how absolutely diabetes-welcoming the original cake was.  No offense to the lady or dude who concocted it.

I furiously grated about 3/4 of a carrot before I decide to use a blender thingie.  My arms are too weak to grate 3 cups!

Quite a bit more batter than I thought.  Uncooked it took up about half this baking dish and cooked it rose to well above the rim.

A photo of the finished product before the frosting turned to glaze (the cake was too hot… I always do this!).

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1c vegetable oil

1 1/2c granulated sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

2c unbleached all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp ground cinammon

3c shredded/grated carrots

Frosting

1/4c softened butter (i.e. leave at room temp beforehand!)

4oz cream cheese

2c confectioner’s sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Equpiment:

Two mixing bowls

A smaller bowl for making frosting

A baking pan (preferably at least 9″x9″ or two loaf pans)

A handheld blender if available (easier for the frosting)

How to Make:

Preheat the oven to 350F (also, it might be a good idea to leave all your frosting ingredients at room temp so it’s easier to beat them together later).  Grate your carrots…. for this step, I decided that a blender would be better than my grater.  The carrot pieces end up looking like mulch but your wrists will thank you for sparing them this tedious task.

Combine the eggs, vegetable oil, sugar, and vanilla in one bowl.  Mix thoroughly.  In the other bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.  Mix thoroughly.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, incorporating everything slowly and evenly.  Add the carrots and mix mix mix until you get a batter that looks like vomit.

Pour the batter into your pan.  I didn’t grease it beforehand and the cake turned out fine, so if you have a glass pan, I’m sure you can go with the less oily option.  Bake 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick can come out clean from the center of the cake.  Meanwhile, make the frosting by combining butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, and vanilla extract.  Mix mix mix.  This was a bit tedious for me, so I used a handheld blender.

Take the cake out as soon as it is done cooking and let it cool.  DO NOT ADD FROSTING WHILE THE CAKE IS WARM.  That was my mistake, and my frosting soon turned to glaze.  As the cake was highest in the middle, I ended up with a carrot cake volcano with glaze lava slowly but surely accumulating at the edges of the pan and eventually dripping down the sides.  A terrible waste of frosting.

