Salad: friend or foe?  I have to ask myself that every time I’m confronted with a plate of leafy greens.  As a relative newcomer to the salad phenomenon- college was when I started- the idea of it is still better than the consumption.  Salads are best when I think about how good they are for my body and they always taste better when someone else makes them.  Well, little by little I’m trying to squash that perception (note: squash without adding obscene amounts of dressing and/or chicken strips).  Winter was a perfect time to do so, as my diet has seen a 300-1000% increase in meat in the last few weeks.

This salad was pretty simple…. so simple I don’t actually need to put the recipe up.  But just thought I’d remind my salad-averse friends that it is worth a try every now and again.  And once you buy the bag, you are committed to a whole week of fabulously healthy eating!  Not so keen?  You could also try mixing with flavored rice and ground beef, sesame oil, or substituting for sandwich bread.

This actually keeps quite well without dressing.  There wasn’t too much water loss after 3 days in the fridge, bowl covered tightly with Saran wrap.

Ingredients:

1 head romaine lettuce

5 cherry tomatoes or 1/2 large tomato, chopped in whatever way you find appetizing

1/4 cucumber, sliced or diced

3-4 tbsp goat cheese, crumbled

olive oil

1/2 bulb roasted garlic (see my artichoke dip post)

pinch salt

pinch black pepper

pinch red pepper flakes (optional)

Equipment:

A mixing bowl

How to Make:

Chop lettuce crosswise, about 1″ wide.  I find salads more appetizing when they’re in itty bitty pieces.  Chop cherry tomatoes in half and slice cucumbers.  Add the vegetables together in a mixing bowl, along with the goat cheese, and mix mix mix.  Now combine the olive oil, salt, black pepper, and roast garlic.  Ready to eat!

I think this goes without saying, but just in case: don’t add olive oil to the entire bowl, only to individual portions.  That way, you can save the rest for later.

