When I don’t want to cook much, my fallback plan is always an egg omelet and some kind of stir-fried greens over rice.  It’s quick, filling, and most importantly I can pile gobs of hot sauce on top of it.  Get a little protein, some vitamins, some carbs…. very nice.  And I don’t know how everyone else functions in the kitchen, but I always have a carton of eggs ready for action.  If I go too long without them, I feel like I have nothing to eat.  I probably eat too many eggs per week but hey I’m still young…. will deal with repercussions of food abuse later.  I’m hoping that all the extra $$ going into organics will offset my carb-rich diet and shameless affinity for deep-fried foods.

Sorry, no photos of the cooking process.  I was trying to cook something else at the same time, and the preparation was relatively quick and straightforward.  Will probably try more snow pea recipes in the future.  I used to dislike them very much, but for some reason I’m okay with them now.  Wish I could say the same thing for seafood.

Ingredients:

3 eggs

1/2 medium red onion

salt to taste

—-

2 cloves garlic

1 box snow peas OR enough to fill 2 cups, loosely packed

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil (optional)

salt to taste

vegetable oil

Equipment:

A non-stick pan

How to Cook:

Mince the garlic and cut ends off snow peas.  Mince onions and set aside.  Heat vegetable oil on medium-high heat in the pan and when warm, add the garlic.  Cook the garlic for 1 to 2 minutes.  Add snow peas.  Add a dash of salt and some water (about 1/2 to 3/4 c), stir around.  Cover the pan if possible.  At this point, crack eggs into a bowl and mix until homogeneous.

The snow peas should cook fairly quickly.  After about 5 minutes, check on them.  Much of the water should be absorbed by now but hopefully not all of it is gone.  Add the soy sauce and sesame oil, and stir around.  Now keep heating uncovered until cooked.  Toss around a few times.  If you’re unsure of when they’re done, try one to test the crunchiness.  If too crunchy, keep cooking.  Transfer to a plate.

Add a little more vegetable oil to the pan.  Let warm and add minced onion.  Cook for two or three minutes, or until the onion starts to become translucent.  Now add the eggs and some salt.  The egg should start to solidify immediately (if not, you’re not cooking at a high enough temp).  Swirl the pan around so that the egg coats every part of the bottom.  When the runny part starts to move reallllly slowly, flip the omelet.  Even if it falls apart at this stage, try to flip whatever you can.  You’ll be slicing it up in the end so it need not be perfect.  Let cook for another 2 to 3 minutes or until you think the omelet is sufficiently solidified.  Transfer to a plate or cutting board and cut until thin strips, about 2 inches long and 1 inch wide (or whatever.  This is a totally arbitrary preference).

