Prior to making this lemon curd, I had no idea what lemon curd even was.  In fact, I’m still- after making it twice in less than a month- trying to figure out what its purpose is.  It’s too sticky to take the place of jam but I can’t think of anything else it could substitute.  Oh well.  It will just have to belong to that vague grouping of tea time foods I’ve yet to fully appreciate, otherwise known as Fancy Things I Make to Impress My Friends.

So despite the fact that I started out not knowing what the end result was supposed to look and taste like (using raw eggs, mind you), I think it turned out well…. I didn’t deviate much from the recipe but I will provide it here nonetheless.  One quick thing to note: the second time I made it, I put the ingredients directly into the saucepan and stirred constantly.  In the end, I almost thought this lemon curd was better.  It was stickier and more tart, but perhaps that was due to the length of time on the stovetop and the fact that I used Meyer lemons instead of regular ones.  Either method should give you a fine product.  One calls for more clean-up and the other calls for constant stirring action.

Keeps for a week in the fridge!  As it gets older, it tastes more and more like plain old egg.  :\

Master chef I am not.  You can see that clearly from my one broken egg yolk.

Cooking apparatus- one glass mixing bowl atop a saucepan.  Again, you can put the ingredients directly in the saucepan if you’re willing to stir constantly.

This is what it looked like right before I removed from heat and added butter.

Post butter

After overnight refrigeration.  It would be better just to transfer to a clean jar (less clean up afterward).

Ingredients:

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (2 large lemons)

1/2c sugar (I used a litle less)

2 egg yolks

1/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into small pieces (about 1/2 stick butter)

2 tsp lemon zest (optional)

Equipment:

Small saucepan

Heatproof mixing bowl, preferably glass, that can sit atop the saucepan without touching the water (optional only if you don’t want to put the ingredients in pot directly)

How to Make:

Measure out and prepare all ingredients beforehand- extract egg yolk, zest and juice lemon, measure sugar, etc.  This makes things go a lot faster and more smoothly.  Fill saucepan halfway up with water and bring to a boil.  In the meantime, add lemon juice, zest, sugar, and egg yolks in the bowl.  Mix mix mix.  Once water is boiling, place bowl over the saucepan and stir continuously for 15-20 minutes (the blog I got this recipe from says 10 minutes) or until the mixture becomes thick and can coat the back of a wooden spoon.

Remove the bowl from heat.  Add butter one piece at a time, making sure that one piece melts before adding the next one.  Stir continuously while doing this.  Either place the bowl in fridge now or transfer to a jar.  Refrigerate.  (Optional) Freeze aliquots of lemon curd if you don’t think you can finish it all in one week, the earlier the better.

