Oh how I love you my wonderful little rice cooker!  Like I’ve said in the past, I don’t know why you wouldn’t have one, as it is so convenient to use, durable, and versatile.  And it’s capable of making whole dinners in a snap, perfect for those nights when you come home from work and think to yourself, If only I were wealthy enough to hire a personal chef or at the very least to not feel guilty about ordering take-out for the nth time this month.  No, just me?  Fine.

This dish was an easy go-to meal for me because it’s comprised of food items I have in my fridge/pantry at all times: rice, frozen peas, broth cubes (home-made vegetable broth this time), eggs, garlic.  Since I had some leftover onion and broccoli from a previous cooking venture, I threw those in as well.  Really, you can use any old vegetable or meat, any leftovers will do.  The important things are the rice- obviously- and the broth.  The broth is what gives this dish its flavor and makes it look more dressed up.

Originally, I wasn’t going to post this recipe, as it is constantly in flux and quite simple/kind of sloppy looking.  But then I thought that it would be a good idea to show to you, my possibly loyal small handful of readers, that I don’t make ridiculous 2+ hour meals after work all the time.  There are nights when I too come home hungry and exhausted, and all I want is something cheap/quick/healthy to quell the rumbling in my gut.  So here it is.  Enjoy!  It’s so easy that if you screw this up, it’s entirely your fault.  Sorry, TRUTH.

The cubes are vegetable broth cubes that I froze down a couple months ago.  Once you start making your own broth and freezing it down, the food world is your oyster!

Ingredients:

2 cloves garlic

1/2 medium onion, diced

1 stalk broccoli, chopped (stem diced)

vegetable oil

1 1/2c basmati rice (or other long grain rice)

3c vegetable broth (I used 3 1/2c vegetable broth cubes)

2 eggs

1/2 – 3/4 c frozen peas

salt to taste

Equipment:

A pan

A rice cooker

How to Make:

Chop up all vegetables.  In the pan, heat oil over medium high-heat.  Add onions and garlic and stir until onions become translucent.  Add the basmati rice.  Mix mix mix (give it a good 2-3 minutes).  Transfer to rice cooker.  Add vegetable broth (if in cubes, add them before adding broccoli or eggs otherwise rice may burn), broccoli, frozen peas and eggs.  Press “Cook.”  When rice is done cooking, remove eggs and run under cold water for easy peeling.  Add salt to rice and mix everything around.  If too dry, add some more water and mix.

