Kind of feels like soup weather to me…. the wind is howling and it’s cold.  Expecting rain all week.  Too bad I didn’t make this soup recently!  I tried it about a month ago, but it’s taken me a while to post up.  I still have a little aliquot frozen away for when I might feel a craving for some creamy vegetable goodness.  Hopefully that will be within the next few months and not in three years or something.  Also hopefully I would actually throw away frozen food before it reached the three year mark.  You never know.  I quite liked the flavor of this recipe, which I found from this site, but I would recommend a good blender for best results.  I inherited mine from a friend, so I can’t complain too much.  I will say though that the soup wasn’t quite as smooth as I would have liked.  I blame that entirely on faulty equipment, for even on the “High Liquify” setting the blades of my blender sadly missed the individual cauliflower buds, adding a unique crunch to the soup texture.  Oh well.  You will just have to try this recipe for yourself.  Roast some extra garlic while you’re at it, so you can make a nice olive oil dip for toasted bread.

Ingredients:

1 head cauliflower

1 bulb garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

2 stalks celery

1 yellow onion

1 medium carrot

1 tbsp butter

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/8 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1 tbsp flour

1/3c dry white wine

1/2c water

2c vegetable broth

1 bay leaf

Equipment:

A large stockpot

A blender

How to Make:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Cut the cauliflower into florets and and mix with olive oil.  Transfer to a baking pan.  Cut heads off garlic and place into tin foil, Add olive oil and wrap in foil.  When oven comes to temperature, place cauliflower and garlic on middle rack for 25 minutes.  Cauliflower should be tender by the time you take it out!

Dice the onion, celery, and carrots.  Heat butter in stockpot and add the vegetables.  Cook for about 8 to 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, take the individual cloves out of the garlic bulb if it is done roasting already.  This is best done by popping them out with a fork.  Add salt, pepper, paprika, thyme, and flour to stockpot.  Mix mix mix.  Cook another 2 minutes.  Add wine and water.  Add broth in increments, making sure to stir in between additions.  Now add bay leaf and garlic cloves.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add cauliflower florets and simmer for 5 minutes.

Remove bay leaf and blend soup until “smooth.”  Return to stockpot and add half and half.  Simmer a few more minutes, stirring occasionally, and adjust flavor with salt and pepper.

