Mmm this photo makes me salivate.  I made this curry about three months ago after purchasing The Africa Cookbook at a clearance sale.  The dish is Kenyan in origin.  “But curry is Indian!” you say (maybe).  Ah but “[the] influence of Arabia and the East is felt in the spices that are available in the market…” responds the book.  Here is your cue to nod and ponder your profound lack of knowledge about the rest of the world.  Who knew that Kenya traded with countries across the Indian Ocean?  I certainly did not until I went to Tanzania (which sits right underneath Kenya) three years ago.  I still lament the fact that I did not go to Zanzibar when I had the chance.  I could have come back with a whole suitcase full of spices!!

Moving on.  This recipe is very simple and very quick; the only drawback is that you must buy hot Madras curry powder.  I found one from McCormick in my supermarket’s fancy spices aisle.  Trust me, if you use any other type of curry, it will be like any plain old cabbage curry.  Hot Madras curry has a certain kick to it, a flavor unlike most curries you find in stores or at Asian restaurants.  I enjoyed pairing my cabbage with basmati rice and a mild chicken curry dish (recipe to follow soonish).  It would also go great with rice alone or some naan!  Again, I don’t know how to properly cite non-internet sources so I will share this recipe and if you like it, I encourage you to purchase the actual book.  There are many wonderful dishes waiting to spice up your life.

Ingredients:

1 medium cabbage

1/2c water

2 tbsp butter

3 large onions, diced

1 tbsp flour

1 tbsp hot Madras curry powder

1/2c milk

Equipment:

A medium-sized pot or stockpot w/ lid

A saucepan (small pot)

How to Make:

Cut in the cabbage into 1″ squares and unbunch the leaves.  Transfer to the medium-sized pot and add water.  Cover and cook over medium heat for 20 minutes or until the cabbage is tender.

Meanwhile, (dice the onions if you haven’t already) melt the butter in the saucepan.  Add onions and saute until cooked/translucent.  Add flour and curry powder.  Mix mix mix.  Cook an additional 2 to 3 minutes.  Add milk.  Mix mix mix.

Drain the cabbage and transfer to a serving dish.  Pour the onion curry mixture over it (I neglected to read this part of the instructions so I actually mixed the cabbage and onion curry mixture in the stockpot and THEN transferred into a serving dish.  My bad.).

