I don’t know about you but I am very impressed by my blogging progress as of late.  I’m on fire!  Well, not really but I have more time on my hands now that I stopped working.  That’s right (as if most of you didn’t already know), I am taking a short but sweet summer vacation before I begin the very serious business of medical school.  So far I’ve spent it running errands, doing productive projects for home-beautification, and watching RuPaul’s Drag Race, Season 3.  Just watch the first minute of this and tell me you don’t love it.

Anyway, FRIED RICE.  Fried rice is one of the first dishes I ever learned to make.  It’s super easy and quick, a favorite lunchtime meal that I pile copious amounts of chili sauce onto.  It is also the dish you give your daughter the first time she gets her period (FACT.  I have experienced this first-hand).  There are many mini-variations for how to cook it, but the one thing they all have in common is leftover rice.  You cannot cook rice right before you make this dish.  Sorry but the flavor and texture isn’t as good.  The rice has to be at least a day old.  One time I used freshly-made rice when I cooked dinner for my friend’s family and the result was a disastrously unflavored and mushy mess.  No one said it sucked but the silence that filled the room (not a good one) was more than enough commentary.

I usually only use eggs to make fried rice, but I had some frozen shrimpies in the freezer and decided to toss them in too.  You can either leave them out or substitute with some type of meat (cut into small strips).  Also, since this is my own personal recipe, the measurements are only approximations, so adjust flavor accordingly.  Enjoy.

Ingredients:

2 eggs

2 garlic cloves

handful of frozen cooked shrimp

2.5 -3c one day+ old rice (preferably long-grain)

1/2c water

1/4c dark soy sauce

a little less than 1/4c light soy sauce

2 scallions

salt to taste

Equipment:

A wok.  If you don’t have one, you can use a large non-stick pan.

How to Make:

Beat the eggs in a bowl.  Mince the garlic and chop the shrimp into small bite-sized pieces.

Heat oil in the wok on medium-high heat until hot (I usually add a little less than 1/4 cup vegetable oil, but that’s because my wok has a very wide flat base.  If yours is smaller or has a rounded bottom, you can probably just use 3 tbsp).  Add eggs and stir-fry until cooked.  Make sure to scramble!  I usually cut into the eggs with my spatula while I’m tossing.  When eggs are cooked, scoop back into the bowl they were beaten in.

Add a bit more oil into wok and heat up.  Throw in the garlic and shrimp.  Toss toss toss.  Should only take about 2 or 3 minutes if your wok is hot enough.  Now add the rice and then the water.  Chop the rice into smaller pieces and mash against the side of the wok with the back of the spatula.  Toss periodically so the shrimp and garlic get dispersed.  Once the rice is no longer clumped, add the eggs.  Mix mix mix.  Add the light and dark soy sauces.  Mix mix mix until the rice is an even color all over.  If the rice still looks a bit wet, keep cooking a few more minutes.

Chop scallions.  Turn heat off and add scallions to rice.  Mix mix mix.  Add salt if necessary.

